Foundation Leadership

Foundation Leadership

At Scranton Area Community Foundation, our success has always been dependent on a high level of commitment and leadership from a dedicated group of community members. Over the years, many wonderful individuals have given their personal time and effort to assure the success and growth of our programs. We would like to acknowledge and thank those individuals currently involved, as well as those dedicated participants of the past.

Foundation Staff

The staff of Scranton Area Community Foundation is comprised of dedicated professionals who are devoted to helping our generous donors connect to the causes that they care about most.

Laura Ducceschi, MA, MBA, CAP®, CFRE

President and CEO

Bella Ceccoli

Executive Assistant to the President and CEO

Maggie Martinelli, MBA

Chief Operating Officer

Cathy Fitzpatrick

Director of Grants and Scholarships

Frank Caputo

Grants and Scholarships Manager

Joel Grabin, MBA

Director of Finance

Dana Hunter

Operations Manager

Brittany Pagnotti, MBA, CFRE

Director of Donor Relations and Communications

Vivian Williams, MBA

Director of Community Impact

Amy Betts

Community Impact Manager

Jana Nelhybel, MA

NEPA Thrives Sustainability Manager

Rebecca Farrell

Community Impact Coordinator

Ryan Eckersley

Finance and Administration Associate

Board of Governors

The Scranton Area Community Foundation is governed by a Board of Governors who are appointed or elected because of their knowledge and understanding of community issues and opportunities. Our Board of Governors plays a vital role in the Scranton Area Community Foundation and reflects the diverse interests of our community, overseeing the work of the Foundation with commitment, foresight, and integrity.


As stewards of the Foundation, the Board establishes policy, leads the effort to build the endowment, reviews the investment performance of funds, and oversees our grantmaking efforts. The Board reviews recommendations and makes decisions on all grants to ensure that the philanthropic wishes of our donors are carried out. Board members are chosen for their understanding of regional issues and expertise in their professions.


Ellen Burkey, Chair

David Price, Vice Chair

Katie Gilmartin, Treasurer

Dr. Thomas Minora, Secretary 

Board Members

Joseph Bannon, MD

Ellen Burkey
Ameriprise Financial

William Conaboy, Esq.

Christopher DiMattio

Thomas Donohue

Patricia Fox, Psy.D

Katie Gilmartin

William Joyce

Bobby Lynett

Ryan McGowan

Thomas Minora, MD, F.A.C.P.

Marion Munley, Esq.

Jerry Musheno, R.Ph. Esq.

Kenneth Okrepkie

Lia Richards Palmiter, PhD

Maryla Scranton

Barbara O’Hara

David Price

Patricia Thomas

Paul Woelkers, R.T.(R), Hon. D.H.L.

Advisory Council

Our Advisory Council is comprised of community leaders who have been appointed to work with the Foundation because of their knowledge and understanding of community issues and opportunities.

Warren Acker
Donna Barbetti
Richard Bishop
Rose Broderick
Paul Browne
William Calpin Jr.
Dante Cancelli
Ida Castro
Jim Clemente
Karen Clifford
Catherine Cullen
James Gillotti
Kathleen Graff
Matthew Haggerty
Cathy Ann Hardaway

David Hawk

Alan Hughes
John Kearney
Robert Lettieri
George Lynett
Sharon McCrone
Patrick McMahon
Barbara Norton
Sally O’Brien
Ann Lavelle Powell
Carlon Preate
James Reid
Kevin Rogers
James Ross
Walter Schautz
Tim Speicher
John (Jack) Tighe III

We find that it is both a privilege and a challenge to help our clients achieve their philanthropic goals. We are honored to have the privilege and are committed to meeting the challenge.

It’s our job to help bring positive change in our community!