Leave a Legacy


Donor Portal

>> Give to the Community

>> Subscribe to our Newsletter

Submit Nominations for the 2017 Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award


The Scranton Area Foundation invites you to nominate an individual for the 2017 Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award.

The Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award is presented annually to a woman who demonstrates:

The Award has been presented since 1992, when a fund was established by the family of Margaretta Belin Chamberlin both to honor her memory and to recognize accomplishments of women in our community while encouraging their personal and/or professional development.

The Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award will be presented at the Scranton Area Foundation’s Women in Philanthropy Quarterly Meeting and Reception on Thursday, November 9, 2017.  The event will be held at the University of Scranton, Leahy Hall from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Attached is a nomination form which outlines the purpose and procedures of the award which may be given annually to either a volunteer or professional woman who exemplifies the characteristics of Margaretta, including community-mindedness, tolerance, sensitivity, and leadership.  In 2006, a new process was adopted which allows prior nominations to be kept on file for three years.  Anyone who would like to renominate a proposed candidate who has not been selected for the award may do so by updating information on file regarding the candidate’s qualifications for the award.

Past award recipients have included Eleanore Ginader, Rosemary Broderick, Sharon McCrone, Catherine Richmond-Cullen, Mary Elaine Southard, Judith O. Graziano, Carol Weiss Rubel, Charlotte McIlwee Ravaioli, Diana Statsman, Susan S. Belin, Rachel R. Yaklic (10th anniversary youth recipient), Margaret “Peg” Ruddy, Sally E. Bohlin, Andrea J. Mulrine, Natalie Gelb, Mary Ann LaPorta, Sr. Margaret Gannon, IHM, Mary Belin Rhodes, Sondra Myers, Nancy Dressel, Jeanne Bovard, Suzanne Fisher Staples, Jane Oppenheim, Sister Ann Walsh and Michelle Dempsey.

We encourage you to nominate someone for the award who you feel has made an impact on our community.  Please complete and return the Nomination Form by September 22.  If you have any questions, please contact us at the Foundation office.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Join the Scranton Area Community Foundation email list for the latest news and happenings.