Leave a Legacy


Donor Portal

>> Give to the Community

>> Subscribe to our Newsletter

Submit a nomination for the 2020 Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award


Deadline to submit a nomination: Thursday, July 23, 2020.


Women in Philanthropy and the Scranton Area Community Foundation invite you to nominate an individual for the 2020 Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award.

The Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award is presented annually to a woman who demonstrates the following qualities:

  • Commitment to community: to the wellbeing of individuals regardless of socioeconomic status, race, religion, ethnic background, age or gender and to the common good
  • Vision, creativity, innovation, and ingenuity in response to community need
  • Tolerance and sensitivity in response to the human condition
  • Achievement of goals which demonstrate commitment and creativity, and serve as a model and inspiration to others
  • Leadership in empowering and transforming the lives of women and girls in the community

We encourage you to nominate someone for the award who you feel has made an impact on our community.  

Nominations will be accepted online through the Scranton Area Community Foundation’s online grant portal.

Once you log in to the Scranton Area Community Foundation’s online grant portal, you will be able to submit your nomination.

Please review the instructions on the online grant portal homepage PRIOR to creating a new account. For additional questions about creating a login, please email Grants@safdn.org.

Please note: If you are an individual wishing to submit a nomination and you are NOT applying on behalf of a nonprofit organization, please contact Maggie Martinelli at Maggie@safdn.org for instructions on submitting a nomination. We welcome your submission!

The Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award has been presented since 1992 when a fund was established by the family of Margaretta Belin Chamberlin both to honor her memory and to recognize accomplishments of women in our community while encouraging their personal and/or professional development. The award is given annually to either a volunteer or professional woman who exemplifies the characteristics of Margaretta, including community-mindedness, tolerance, sensitivity, and leadership.

The Margaretta Belin Chamberlin Award will be presented at the Women in Philanthropy Quarterly Meeting to be announced at a later date. The recipient will receive a monetary award of $1,000 for the purpose of personal development or to donate to a charitable organization of the recipient’s choice.

Prior recipients include Eleanore Ginader, Rosemary Broderick, Sharon McCrone, Catherine Richmond-Cullen, Mary Elaine Southard, Judith O. Graziano, Carol Weiss Rubel, Charlotte McIlwee Ravaioli, Diana Statsman, Susan S. Belin, Rachel R. Yaklic (10th anniversary youth recipient), Margaret “Peg” Ruddy, Sally E. Bohlin, Andrea J. Mulrine, Natalie Gelb, Mary Ann LaPorta, Sr. Margaret Gannon, IHM, Mary Belin Rhodes, Sondra Myers, Nancy Dressel, Jeanne Bovard, Suzanne Fisher Staples, Jane Oppenheim, Sister Ann Walsh, Nada Gilmartin, Michelle Dempsey, Laurie Cadden, and Maureen Maher-Gray. 



Deadline to submit a nomination: Thursday, July 23, 2020.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Join the Scranton Area Community Foundation email list for the latest news and happenings.